Veröffentlicht am: 08.07.2018 um 13:52 Uhr:

gamescom: gamescom award 2018: apply now!

* Application for gamescom awards 2018 possible until 1 August
* New procedure: submission for the gamescom award is combined with submission to the Entertainment Software Self-Regulation Body (USK)
* For the first time two award ceremonies: Tuesday, 21 August (jury winners) and 24 August (public winners)
* There are a total of 6 new categories, including "Best Streamer/Let's Player", "Best Developer" and "Best Publisher"

The application phase for the gamescom award 2018 has started. Registered exhibitors of gamescom can apply for the most coveted prize of the European computer and video games industry until 11:59 p.m. on 1 August 2018. The gamescom award is presented in a total of 29 categories. This year, however, there are several new aspects to consider: titles that want to have a chance at the gamescom award must be submitted by 1 August to the awards office of the Stiftung Digitale Spielekultur. New is that the winners in the categories nominated by the international jury will this year already be announced on the trade visitor and media day of gamescom on 21 August 2018 in the Konrad Adenauer Hall of Congress Centre North. Games or products that can either only be first evaluated by the jury directly at gamescom or are chosen by the public, like "Best Booth" or the gamescom "Most Wanted Consumer Award", will be evaluated via the gamescom app as usual. The winners of these categories will be announced on the gamescom stage on Saturday, 25 August. The award office will be headed by the Stiftung Digitale Spielekultur. This way to the general conditions of participation and to apply for the gamescom award 2018.

» The gamescom award 2018 comes with a series of innovations: in order that a large number of categories, including all platform and genre categories, can already be awarded on the first day of the trade fair, Tuesday, 21 August 2018, the jury of the gamescom award will already view and evaluate the nominated games prior to the start of the trade fair. To this purpose, a jury session will take place two weeks prior to gamescom in the offices of the USK and the Stiftung Digitale Spielekultur in Berlin. The moving forward of the award show is made possible through close cooperation with the USK, where the content for gamescom is in any case to be submitted for youth protection inspection.

All of the registered exhibitors of the entertainment area of gamescom are therefore requested to submit their gamescom demos that are playable for fans and visitors to both the awards office (Stiftung Digitale Spielekultur) and to the USK for age designation.
The submission of one playable demo version is sufficient. In the process, a regular USK testing (USK-Prüfantrag) application must be submitted and the submission form of the gamescom award filled out.

The USK ensures the timely testing for the age designation of the gamescom demos. The awards office organises the viewing and evaluation of the submitted demos by the jury of the gamescom award.

The deadline for submissions to the USK and the gamescom awards office is Wednesday, 1 August 2018, 11:59 p.m.! The general conditions of participation and the application forms for the gamescom award 2018 can be found here:

gamescom award 2018: an overview of the categories
In 2018, gamescom exhibitors have the chance to compete for the award in a total of 29 categories.

Jury categories that require submission to the USK are:

Genre categories group:
+ Best Action Game
+ Best Add-on/DLC
+ Best Casual Game
+ Best Family Game
+ Best Hardware
+ Best Multiplayer Game
+ Best Puzzle/Skill Game
+ Best Racing Game
+ Best Role Playing Game
+ Best Simulation Game
+ Best Social/Online Game
+ Best Sport Game
+ Best Strategy Game
+ Best Virtual Reality Game

Platform categories group:
+ Best Console Game Microsoft Xbox One
+ Best Console Game Nintendo Switch
+ Best Console Game Sony PlayStation 4
+ Best Mobile Game
+ Best PC Game

Best of gamescom categories group:
+ Best of gamescom

Categories directly connected with a presence at gamescom or that are to be evaluated by the public are:

Consumer awards categories group:
+ Best Consumer Experience
+ Best Queue-Entertainment
+ Best Streamer/Let's Player
+ gamescom "Most Wanted" Consumer award

gamescom global awards categories group:
+ Best Booth
+ Best Developer
+ Best Publisher

gamescom Indie award categories group:
+ gamescom Indie award

Best of CAMPUS categories group:
+ Best of CAMPUS

On 21 August 2018 the motto is "and the winners are" for the nominated companies of the jury categories. The other categories and the public prize will be announced on 25 August on the gamescom stage. «

Quelle: Presse Release - No. 8/ July 2018, Cologne

Weitere Artikel zum Thema gamescom, die Sie auch interessieren könnten...

gamescom award 2018: Jetzt bewerben!

gamescom 2018: family & friends mit tollen Angeboten für Groß und Klein

gamescom 2018 welcomes Spain as partner country

gamescom 2018 begrüßt Spanien als Partnerland

10. gamescom congress: Think Tank für Digitalisierung: gamescom congress zeigt Potenziale von Games-Technologien auf