Veröffentlicht am: 29.07.2019 um 20:50 Uhr:

gamescom: gamescom award 2019: apply now!

+++ Application for gamescom awards 2019 possible until 31 July +++ New procedure: submission of gameplay footage is sufficient +++ Once again, two award ceremonies: 19 August (jury winners) in the context of gamescom Opening Night Live and 24 August (audience winners) per live stream +++

» The application phase for the gamescom award 2019 has started: registered exhibitors of gamescom can apply for the most coveted prize of the European computer and video games industry until 11:59 p.m. on 31 July 2019. The gamescom award is presented in a total of 28 categories. This year, submission will be considerably easier: it′s enough to submit an approximately ten minute gameplay video (optionally commented) to the award office for evaluation by the "gamescom award" jury. The winners of the gamescom award in the jury categories will already be announced in the new gamescom Opening Night Live show, hosted by Geoff Keighley, on 19 August. Games or products that can only be tested by the jury at gamescom or are chosen by the public, like "Best Booth" or the gamescom "Most Wanted Consumer Award", will be announced by gamescom on Saturday, 24 August via live stream. The award office will be headed by the Stiftung Digitale Spielekultur.Click here for the conditions of participation and to apply for the gamescom award 2019

The gamescom award 2019 comes with several innovations: in order that a large number of categories, including all platform and most genre categories, can already be awarded on the evening before the trade fair, Monday, 21 August 2019, the jury of the gamescom award will already view and evaluate the nominated games prior to the start of the trade fair. To this purpose, a jury meeting will take place three weeks prior to gamescom in Berlin. However, the condition for submission is and remains that the title concerned must be playable for fans and visitors of gamescom at the stand of the submitting exhibitor in the entertainment area of gamescom. Several categories have also been revised. For example, the award for "Best Ongoing Game" will replace the previous award for "Best Add-on /DLC". There are also several new categories, for example, "Best eSports Experience", "Best Action Adventure" or "Best Fighting Game".

All registered exhibitors of the entertainment area of gamescom are therefore requested to submit titles that are playable for fans and visitors at gamescom to the awards office (Stiftung Digitale Spielekultur).

The submission of an approximately ten-minute gameplay video is sufficient. This can be commented in English or German (with English subtitles). The design of the video is otherwise open. The submission form for the gamescom award must also be filled out. The awards office ensures the viewing and evaluation of the submitted games by the jury of the gamescom award.

The deadline for submissions to the gamescom awards office is Wednesday, 31 July 2019, 11:59 p.m.! The general conditions of participation and the application forms for the gamescom award 2019 can be found here:

gamescom award 2019: an overview of the categories

In 2019, gamescom exhibitors have the chance to compete for the award in a total of 28 categories.

Jury categories that will already be awarded on Monday prior to the trade fair are:

Parts of the genre categories group:

- Best Action Adventure Game

- Best Action Game

- Best Family Game

- Best Fighting Game

- Best Original Game

- Best Racing Game

- Best Role Playing Game

- Best Simulation Game

- Best Sports Game

- Best Strategy Game

Platform categories group:

- Best Microsoft Xbox One Game

- Best Nintendo Switch Game

- Best Sony PlayStation 4 Game

- Best Mobile Game

- Best PC Game

Categories directly connected with a presence at gamescom or that are to be evaluated by the public are:

Parts of the genre categories group:

- Best Hardware / Technology

- Best Multiplayer Game

- Best Ongoing Game

- Best VR / AR Game

Consumer awards categories group:

- Best Booth

- Best eSports Experience

- Best Streamer/Let′s Player

- gamescom "Most Wanted" Consumer Award

gamescom global awards categories group:

- Best Games Company


Best of CAMPUS categories group:

- Best of CAMPUS

Best of gamescom categories group:

- Best of gamescom

We will be awarding the following categories separately on the indie village stage:

gamescom Indie award categories group:

- gamescom Indie Award

About gamescom

gamescom is the world’s largest event for computer and video games and Europe’s largest business platform for the games industry. Hundreds of thousands of visitors from hundreds of countries celebrate the latest games live at the event in Cologne. They are joined by millions of fans across the globe on digital channels. With the business area, the entertainment area, the developer conference devcom, the gamescom congress and the gamescom city festival, gamescom covers games culture in all its diversity. In 2019, gamescom opens its doors to trade visitors on Tuesday, 20 August 2019, and to members of the public on Wednesday, 21 August 2019. gamescom is jointly organised by Koelnmesse and game – the German Games Industry Association.

Koelnmesse – Global Competence in Digital Media, Entertainment and Mobility:
Koelnmesse is an international leader in organising trade fairs in the Digital Media, Entertainment and Mobility segments. Trade fairs like photokina, DMEXCO, gamescom, INTERMOT and THE TIRE COLOGNE are established as leading international trade fairs. Koelnmesse not only organises trade fairs in these areas in Cologne, but also in other growth markets like, for example, China, Singapore and Thailand, which have different areas of focus and content. These global activities offer customers of Koelnmesse tailor-made events in different markets, which guarantee sustainable and international business.

gamescom on Facebook:

gamescom on twitter:

gamescom on Instagram: «

Quelle: Press Release - No. 11 / July 2019, Cologne
Hinweis: Dieser Artikel wird automatisch am 24.08.2019 von gelöscht.

Weitere Artikel zum Thema gamescom, die Sie auch interessieren könnten...

Federal Minister of Transport and Digital Infrastructure Scheuer and Minister of State for Digitalisation Bär open gamescom 2019

Bundesverkehrsminister Scheuer und Digitalstaatsministerin Bär eröffnen gamescom 2019

gamescom award 2019: ab sofort bewerben!

gamescom congress 2019 startet Ticketverkauf

gamescom asia: gamescom startet 2020 neuen Asien-Ableger in Singapur